Here is a recent article of
mine. For links to more articles, see the Legal LInks page of this website.
Who
steals my purse steals trash,
But he that filches from me my good name
Robs me of that which not enriches him,
And makes me poor indeed.
Shakespeare's Othello. Act III, Scene 3.
For
those of you who watch "The Apprentice," Donald Trump’s television
reality show, you may remember that Kendra Todd was the winning candidate in
the show’s third season, the first successful woman contestant, and the first
from Florida.
As an instant television celebrity, Kendra's name immediately became a valuable
commodity, and sure enough, someone came along trying to make a few bucks at
her expense.
One of Kendra’s former associates in the real estate business, Leo Miller,
bought the domain name kendratodd.com, just before Kendra was scheduled to
appear on the show and it appeared that a domain name with a contestant’s name
in it might prove valuable. The two had had a business conflict and Miller
thought that he could exert pressure on her to extract money from her by
holding the domain name hostage. He demanded that she pay him $30,000 to
relinquish his ownership in the website, after which he would charge her an
additional $2,000 to sell her the domain name that he claimed he “owned.” After
that he would “sell you the website for $2,000.” He further threatened her that
if she did not pay him these amounts, he would "use the website to
generate business and recoup his ‘losses.’”
After Kendra had her lawyer send Miller a cease and desist letter, he said he
would immediately remove the website from the Internet. However, he did not do
so, but instead changed it to add a variety of false, disparaging, and
defamatory statements. The heading of his webpage read “Apprentice Named in
Lawsuit,” and the first sentence of the text stated: “Kendra Todd, now
appearing on NBC’s “The Apprentice” has been named in a lawsuit filed by Leo
Miller.” At the bottom of the web page, the Miller and his attorney were
mentioned, along with information about his radio program and real estate
office and phone number and the attorney’s phone number. The statements were
completely false, as the Miller never filed a lawsuit.
After further unsuccessful attempts to obtain rights to the domain name, Kendra
brought a complaint under the provisions of the Uniform Dispute Resolution
Policy (UDRP), a dispute policy implemented by ICANN, the Internet Corporation
for Assigned Names and Numbers, a not-for-profit private-sector corporation
created in October 1998 by a coalition of Internet business, technical,
academic, and user representatives to provide technical coordination for the
Internet, including the assignment of Internet domain names. Under the UDRP, when
a complaint is filed against the owner of a domain name, the owner must submit
to a mandatory administrative proceeding conducted before a dispute resolution
service provider approved by ICANN. Among these are the World Intellectual
Property Organization (WIPO) and the National Arbitration Forum.
Under the UDRP, a claimant may assert a cause of action against a domain name
holder if (1) the domain name is identical or confusingly similar to a
trademark or service mark in which the claimant has rights; (2) the domain name
holder has no rights or legitimate interest with respect to the domain name;
and (3) the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith. In
the dispute resolution proceeding, the claimant must prove all three elements.
The panel considers several elements to be evidence of registration and use of
a domain name in bad faith, including (1) circumstances indicating that the
domain name holder has registered or acquired a domain name primarily for the
purpose of selling, renting or otherwise transferring the domain name
registration to the claimant; or (2) registration of the domain name to prevent
the owner of a trademark or service mark from registering the domain name; or
(3) registration of the domain name primarily for the purpose of disrupting the
business of a competitor; or (4) use of the domain name to intentionally
attract for commercial gain Internet users to a web site or other online
location by creating a likelihood of confusion. If the panel finds that the claimant
has proved one or more of these elements, the panel may order the transfer of
the domain name.
The fees charged by the dispute resolution provider must be paid by the
claimant, and all communications are made in writing via e-mail, mail or fax.
There are no actual hearings held on the matter. The entire dispute resolution
proceeding is designed to cost less than $1,500 and last for about 45 days.
We submitted Kendra’s case to the National Arbitration Forum (NAF) for
adjudication by a single panelist in the summer of 2006. In our complaint we
noted that while Miller operated the website, he used it for his own purposes
for commercial gain and to confuse the public, advertising "Kendra Todd
Real Estate" and contacting prospective customers directly and through his
agents for his own real estate services.
We further alleged that the domain name, kendratodd.com, was identical or
confusingly similar to a service mark in which the Kendra has statutory and
common law rights. We had obtained a Service Mark Registration with the State
of Florida for KENDRA
TODD for real estate services and entertainment services, and had also filed
for a Federal registration with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. In
additional, we noted that Kendra had acquired common law rights in her personal
name and service mark, having provided real estate services for many years, and
is a television personality and celebrity providing entertainment services by
virtue of having been named “The Apprentice” on the television program as well
as making personal appearances and appearances on television and radio.
Other UDRP panel had ruled that a celebrity may have sufficient proprietary
rights in his or her name to satisfy the standing requirement of the UDRP due
to the celebrity’s fame and association of their name with their persona. That
is, a celebrity’s name can serve as a trademark when used to identify the
celebrity’s performance services. These included cases involving Julia Roberts,
Mick Jagger, and Kevin Spacey, which ruled that trademark registration was not
necessary and that these entertainers had sufficient secondary associations in
their names to establish common law trademark rights.
See e.g. Roberts v. Boyd, D2000-0210 (WIPO, May 29,
2000); Jagger v. Hammerton, FA 95261 (NAF, Sept. 11, 2000); Spacey v. Alberta
Hot Rods, FA0205000114437 (NAF, Aug. 1, 2002). See also Tupac Shakur v. Shakur
Info Page, AF-0346 (eResolution Sept. 28, 2000) ("A person may acquire
such a reputation in his or her own name as to give rise to trademark rights in
that name at common law"), cited by the arbitrator in Kendra’s case.
The arbitrator agreed that Kendra had established trademark rights in the
KENDRA TODD mark through a state Service Mark registration, an application with
the USPTO, and because the mark was Kendra’s personal name. He further found
that Miller had used the website to display false information about Kendra. In
addition, Miller had attempted to use the disputed domain name as leverage in
attempting to collect money from Kendra. Miller had also attempted to sell the
kendratodd.com domain name to Kendra. The arbitrator ruled that these actions
demonstrated that Miller was not using the disputed domain name for either a
bona fide offering of goods or services or for a legitimate noncommercial or
fair use.
Finally, the arbitrator found that that Miller’s attempt to sell the
kendratodd.com domain name to Kendra for amounts in excess of his out-of-pocket
expenses was evidence of his bad faith registration and use of the domain name.
Additionally, the arbitrator found that Miller registered the disputed domain
name in an attempt to use the disputed domain name against Kendra to create a
likelihood of confusion as to the source and affiliation of Kendra with the
disputed domain name. Such use of the domain name constituted bad faith
registration and use.
The arbitrator therefore ruled that all three elements required under the UDRP
were satisfied, and he ordered the kendratodd.com domain name transferred from
Miller to Kendra. Shortly afterwards, the registrar transferred the domain name
to Kendra and she had the full use of the domain name that carried her name.
Copyright © 2006 David R. Ellis
All rights reserved
http://easl.info/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=25&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0